Cityscape: Sienna Pumpkin Show

Sienna Pumpkin Show merge

After college I had a stash of black and white film left. My friends invited me down to Circleville for their annual Pumpkin Show. I’m not sure why it is called a show, but it is highly entertaining festival. I snapped this black and photo walking down the street. The beautiful contrast of the buildings and the sky and people popped out at me as I was looking for a cityscape to paint.

Sienna Pumpkin Show was another fun monochromatic experiment. At first I was thinking of using color, but as I went through the process of painting it became clear to me that only sienna would clearly represent the expression of the original experience and photo.

To inquire about purchasing this image, please contact Alex Ferree at mstudioartworks@gmail.com. Please put the title of the post in your email and address your interest in the body of the letter.

The Outdoor Watercolor Learning Experience

Practice Gradation:

  1. Start with the heavier body color at the top of the page, but make sure that it is watery.
  2. Clean your brush.
  3. Add water to your brush.
  4. Pull the paint down in horizontal strokes.
  5. Start where you left off, repeating steps 2-4 until you have reached paper white.
Leave a Reply

