The Goose That Follows

DSCF8769DSCF8770DSCF8771

I’m not really sure that I like geese. They poop anywhere. They typically hate people and they are outrageously territorial.

But, they are some of the most stationary birds. Because they are the bully of birds, they don’t really fear people and therefore are apt to stay near when smaller birds fly away quickly.

At Alum Creek Park there were no shortage of cool and unique birds, however none of them stuck around for a photo op.

I used the side of pencil alot to lay in the groundwork for this painting. It makes it looser and you can control dark areas in strokes. My details were loose, but I could see it in its entirety quickly.

I handled my blue layer the same way. I use Prussian blue. It’s got a kind of greenish tint to it and works well to make gray. I blocked in quickly with my big brush and then moved on to my yellows.

I didn’t complicate this painting with a lot of colors. In fact I only used Yellow Ochre, Prussian Blue, Cadmium Yellow Hue, and Ultramarine Light. It was an overcast day. Details were really secondary.

Finishing for me requires sharpening the point of interest. I usually use round brushes and smaller brushes at the end. I will also speckle and flick paint to create texture. It is best to use your thick paint last to sharpen those details.

To inquire about purchasing this image, please contact Alex Ferree at mstudioartworks@gmail.com. Please put the title of the post in your email and address your interest in the body of the letter.

The Goose That Follows Ptg

Happy Painting!

Leave a Reply

