Winter Duck

Winter Duck Fin

By the time I arrived at 9:30 am the temperature had begun its steep drop to 30 some degrees.

The end of February might be a record for the first time I have painted outside in a year. The light was intense and bright one moment and the next it was gloom and doom. The clouds were moving so fast that if I was a practiced impressionist, I might’ve gotten three paintings out the sitting. My paint applied on Winter Duck was very sporadic. It was not a good day to wait for the paint to dry, but nevertheless I painted wet-on-wet. You can see it in the sky and other places in the background.

After I had sketched some roughs and thumbnails for my painting, I felt something was missing. There were great numbers of people all around, but for the most part they were out of my frame. They were running and walking, so specific traits were hard to catch.

As I was getting ready to put my landscape on my page I had a revelation. About a half dozen ducks had been going in and out of my frame for about 15 minutes. I had shot photos, with special interest in this blue billed duck. I did a quick sketch and then added a drawing to my paper. I think God sent those ducks there for me at that time.

Enjoy!

To inquire about purchasing this image, please contact Alex Ferree at mstudioartworks@gmail.com. Please put the title of the post in your email and address your interest in the body of the letter.

Leave a Reply

