Kingdom: Lessons

#Cheese, #Fantasy, #humor, #Dairy, #illustration, #Lynd Fruit Farm, #Peach event, #watercolor, #Art Class, #Daily painting

EVENT! 

On 8/12/17 I will teaching a class on how to paint peaches at the Lynd Fruit Farm Market on. There are 3 different times you can  book during the day. The cost is $20/Class. Seating is limited. You can click on this link to reserve your place: Watercolor Class Peach Event.

The OWLE

Painting and posting for 30 business days is not easy. I hope that this OWLE style lesson will help you when you decide to try a 30 day challenge.

A little over a month ago, my friend, Tom Mason challenged me to do a 30 Day Challenge. The goal was to grab an audience. Perhaps I did it differently than other people, but overall I had fun. The point was to have fun above all.

Instead of picking a strict I subject I drew on my illustration training and picked a theme: Kingdom. This was on of 5-6 words that God had put on my heart to create art from. Illustration seemed to be the least complicated and best way for me to execute it in 30 days.

So in bullet points I will layout general categories of lessons. In the future there may be a book I write on the subject.

  • Keep it simple: Do not pre-plan too much. For me, I used paper I had already cut, a method I was familiar with, and raw imagination.
  • Work small: My size varied from 3×5 to 5×8
  • Treat them more like sketches, than finished paintings
  • Relegate your time: I never really kept track, but when I worked, I worked quickly. If it was too daunting to finish I’d finish the next day, after my painting for the day was finished. Rarely did this carry over more than one day.
  • Keep it interesting: I varied sizes, brushes, techniques drawing and painting, paint -from watercolor to gouache, angles, poses, and composition. Following your desire.
  • Chase the itch: Often I would have an idea for the next day before I finished the painting I was working on that day. Guess what I worked on next?
  • Draw ahead of time: As soon as you get the image, draw it. Paint it the following day. Usually, I only needed to keep one in advance. On my smaller ones, I could do 4 images on a board.
  • Reference: Don’t bother too much with this. Occasionally I would look up something, but mostly I used what I had already learned. It’s too time consuming to reference and research too much in this scenario. Base your idea off a solid composition sketch and run with it.
  • Set your posts up days in advance. I waited a week before I put up my first set of posts. When you work small you can scan 2-4 images at a time. Save time. I also only created variations on a header. I just changed the header’s colors.
  • Autopost to Facebook. If you want more people to see your work, link your posts up to Facebook. Share them on your FB web page as well.
  • Mistakes: You will make a lot of them. Remember these are not final pieces, most of them. Your goals are experiment, experience, and share. You can go back and make larger, better pieces from your 30 day challenge.

Give this a try and post your results on WordPress and Facebook. I look forward to seeing it.

Leave a Reply

